The awards ceremony will take place at The Crowne Plaza Hotel, Blanchardstown on Thursday 29th February 2024

Friday 9th February 2024: The Federation of Irish Sport today announced the County recipients of the 2023 Volunteers in Sport Awards proudly supported by the National Network of 29 Local Sports Partnerships. The County Carlow award for 2023 has been awarded to Stephen Dargan of Carlow FC.

Recognising the depth and breadth of volunteering in sporting communities nationwide, these dedicated volunteers will be celebrated at a national awards ceremony in Dublin on Thursday 29th February 2024. The invited special guest speaker is Minister Thomas Byrne, Minster of State with responsibility for Sport and Physical Education, which is testament to the commitment at government level to supporting and recognising the vital role of volunteers in advancing sports participation and community development.

The recipient of the award for Co. Carlow is Stephen Dargan of Carlow FC. At the core of Stephen’s volunteering is inclusivity and diversity and extending a welcome to individuals from all abilities and backgrounds. Stephen’s contribution to County Carlow Football Club’s all – inclusive tag rugby team has stretched over two decades, and he’s demonstrated his versatility as a volunteer in a number of different roles and his passion for the club. Stephen has a fundamental willingness to adapt to the latest inclusive practices in sport, and curate an enjoyable environment for every participant.

The economic significance of volunteering in sport cannot be overstated, it has an estimated value of €1.5 billion annually to the Irish economy. This figure underscores the immense social and economic benefits derived from the invaluable contributions of volunteers across the Irish sporting landscape.

In addition to the county award winners being recognised at the ceremony, anticipation will be high as one exceptional individual will be awarded with the overall Outstanding Volunteer Award.

Federation CEO Mary O’Connor commented; “We are looking forward to celebrating the exceptional contributions made by volunteers in sport from all over the country. Working behind the scenes volunteers play a crucial role in fostering community engagement, promoting physical activity, and driving the success of sporting events nationwide, they are truly #DedicatedToTheDedicated. The awards promise to be yet again another remarkable event acknowledging the time and passion of those involved in sport locally and to say, ‘thank you’ for their dedication.”

Commenting on the announcement of the list of recipients, Head of Sport, Louth LSP, Louth County Council and member of the judging panel Graham Russell stated, “The 2023 Volunteers in Sport Awards serve as a reminder of the power of volunteering in sport, celebrating individuals whose unwavering dedication enriches lives, strengthens communities, and encourages a culture of active living.”

See below for full list of County Award winners.

About the Federation of Irish Sport (FIS):
Founded in April 2002, the Federation of Irish Sports was established by Ireland’s national sporting organisations to provide leadership, co-ordination, support, and direction on key issues and to represent their interests to government and its relevant agencies. FIS is the representative organisation for 110 National Governing Bodies of Sport (NGBs) and Local Sports Partnerships (LSPs) from every corner of the country, comprising over 12,000 sports clubs. Our purpose is to provide a dynamic and effective voice for Irish sport, “to support and advocate collectively for our members, empowering them to maximise the impact of sport, recreation, and physical activity for society.”


County First Name Surname Club
Antrim Cathryn Watson Ballymoney Hockey Club
Armagh Ciarán Maguire O’Hanlon’s LGFA
Carlow Stephen Dargan Carlow FC
Cavan Fidelma Sheridan Cumman Na mBunscol Co Cavan
Clare Claire Cuddihy Clare Comets Basketball club and Ennis Raptors basketball club
Cork Eoin Kelly Beech Hill Table Tennis Club
Derry Michael Duddy Ring Boxing Club
Donegal Damien Devine Deele Community Anglers
Down Arnold Morgan Banbridge Table Tennis Club
Dublin City Henry Gillanders Mount Pleasant LTC
Dublin DLR Matt Hanlon Dalkey Devils Volleyball Club
Dublin Fingal Nuala Garrihy Fencing Ireland
Active Dublin South Amanda Spencer Jobstown Boxing Club
Fermanagh Ian Ross Enniskillen Rugby Club
Galway Tony Stephens Claregalway GAA Club
Kerry Lorcan Murphy Iveragh Athletics Club
Kildare Roy Baker Irish Martial Arts & Kickboxing Ireland
Kilkenny Ashley Godden Kilkenny Swimming Club
Laois Jackie Byrne Mountrath St. Fintan’s GAA
Leitrim Mary McMorrow Manorhamilton Community Tennis Club
Limerick Wanda Dwane Mungret St Paul’s GAA Club
Longford Ben McCormack Ballymahon Vocational School
Louth Fintan Cooper Glen Magic Soccer Club
Mayo Phelim Halligan Claremorris Ultimate Kickboxing Club
Meath David Quinn Dunshaughlin Youths Football Club
Monaghan Una Forde Monaghan Harps GAA
Offaly John Corboy Birr Town FC
Roscommon Philip Gordan Lough Ree Angling hub
Sligo Simon Cavanagh GAA Handball
Tipperary Paddy Doyle Moyne Athletic Club
Tyrone Rachel McBride Riding For Disabled Omagh
Waterford Sally Kavanagh Waterford Hockey Club
Westmeath Nuala Lawlor Shoot ‘n Stars Special Olympics
Wexford Martin Moylan Dunbrody Archers
Wicklow Ruth McDonagh Bray Hockey Club